Long Distance

“Missing someone gets easier everyday because even though you are one day further from the last time you saw them, you are one day closer to the next time you will.”

I’ve had the opportunity to take part in a long distance relationship ever since the end of my freshmen year. I was only 14 at the time when I made this transition to move out to Philadelphia. All my family and friends told me it wasn’t worth going through all the stress and depression but for some reason, we both didn’t want to lose each other at all. Unknown.jpeg

Growing up playing soccer, David Beckham has always been an inspiration to me. I had always loved his style of play and his attitude on and off the field and strived to be like him. I could watch his highlights for hours just watching how clever he is with the soccer ball.

Right when I thought I knew everything about him, I found something on the internet. I clicked on the link, and found out about David Beckham’s love life. Not only could I relate with him with soccer, I found out that we have similar love lives. When David Beckham was recruited by LA Galaxy in 2007, his wife Victoria decided to split her time between Los Angeles and London. She said her happiness to be in a long-distance relationship might explain “why we’re not bored with each other after 11 years”. `beckhams_2310319k.jpg

I have now been dating my girlfriend for 4 years and 2 of them have been long distance. It’s very difficult when you can’t see the girl you love every single day and physically hold her. But I realized that the longer apart we are from each other, the more special the time we have together is. We make every second we are with each other unforgettable and worthwhile.

But in the mean time we are very thankful for our technology to help keep us connected everyday. We text every second, and FaceTime every night. There isn’t a night that we miss, because each call means something.IMG_0372-2.JPG

“We are the perfect couple, we’re just not in the perfect situation.

Although we can’t control the situation we are in, we try our best to cope with it and make the most out of it. Being able to come home to such an amazing girl is perfect, and the minute I leave her, I have the next time to come home to look forward to. It’s not easy, but just like David Beckham and his wife, I know Lara and I can do it too.

Leave a Reply

